Tutorial 3

Resume of the tutorial with Jonathan
Date May 22.
Topics: How is my practice going and a little about the research paper

Status right now:
I’m still making dream images. After mid-point review, I started a dream-diary: quick ink drawings. I like the freshness, but I’m not sure about the purpose. Maybe the purpose is just doing it and get a good feeling.

I’m waiting for a second Processing output test from my colleague Stig. I made a new catalogue of elements and some adjustments, one week ago. In the meantime, I tried to animate one of the dream images, but get bored before even finished. There could be three reasons for that:
1. Working too slow in After Effect and on another level than I used to, years ago.
2. My idea for movement is too boring and obvious I’m too much in control.
3. I need another layer/element in the moving part.

We talked about sound, scale, space and multiple monitors/screens as new elements to the investigate. I feel it is the way to go right now; jump into a new field and not complicating things which are working fine (the images).
The installation Ouroboros I saw at Click Festival, inspired me – sound, several screens, space, etc. Sound is powerful I have to do a deeper research. I could also start working with my text experiments; a voice could be part of a soundscape.
I reflect on avoiding being too much in control in the creating moment, sometimes I better like the first fresh and rough sketches than the final solution.

We talked about an exhibition by William Kentridge I saw a few weeks ago, and my first impressions; playfulness, control – out of control, drawing as a part of the entire expression and not as an art object.
WK’s style/language has a feeling of random and chaos in contradiction to Michal Craig-Martin who seems to be much more in control. At last tutorial, Jonathan recommended me to read about Michael Craig-Martin, because he had been working the most of his career with a kind of catalogue from where he made sculptures, paintings, wall drawings, etc. I heard him in an interview, and it surprised me to hear him say: I don’t have a plan, I never have a plan I do what is coming next. Because looking at his work, you don’t get that feeling.
We talked a little about the Research Paper and in the light of that two artists and my MA project, the issue of control/lack of control could be a subject for my research paper.

Leave a Reply

