Tutorial 2

Resume of the tutorial with Jonathan
Date March 30th.
Topics: How is it going and my reading

I had a tutorial talk on Skype with Jonathan. I told him that I’m right now having a good working process with the practical part of my project. The idea of making a bank of visual material, helps me to work freer, take chances, and it has changed my view of my Dream Images as final products to be an inspiration source and a base from where I can copy elements to new creations.
I have the feeling of reinvention myself, using part of my creativity I have not used since graduated as an illustrator many years ago now combined with knowledge and skills I worked with since that time.
We looked at Michael Craig-Martin’s works. He had during his art career collected his images and drawings, resampling it into new media and artworks. It inspired me a lot, and I will look more at his art practice.
We also looked at Cat Roisetter works (an artist Johnny Briggs recommended me to study when we had the group tutorial on Low-Residency).
I had concerns about reading; it takes me a long time to read, summarize, etc. I haven’t even found a form yet.
Jonathan recommended me to listen and see talks online. We talked about great institutions, like Tate, have channels, and a lot is available on youtube. I can find material online and at Conferences and quote directly on my blog as long as I source indicates my references.

http://www.michaelcraigmartin.co.uk/
http://catroissetter.co.uk/
http://www.jonnybriggs.com/

Leave a Reply

