Exhibition: Wilhelm Freddie

SMK, National Gallery of Denmark
http://www.smk.dk/en/

Yesterday I went to SMK, just to see if there were any artworks of Wilhelm Freddie (the surrealistic artist which suitcase I found).
The museum was under renovation, so the artworks of WF was moved to a small room with the headline ” Un-realities.”
One of the paintings was new to me; “The Dancer,” from 1943. It was little and, was rougher made than the others. It reminds me of David Lynch’s painting style in its motive, composition, and texture.
“The Dancer” was the painting I liked most. When WF’s painting is very detailed and accurate painted it makes me feel uncomfortable (which is probably the intention).
At home I googled the painting, to get further information. I read that the SMK’s conservators had struggled with the little masterpiece, when they got it in 2011, because of its bad condition.
http://www.smk.dk/en/explore-the-art/visit-the-conservator/stories-from-the-conservators/freddies-flaking-fingers/

img_4056

Leave a Reply

